College Open Day Sunday 20 May 2018

Sports

Roncalli College provides an excellent sports programme with high levels of participation across a number of sporting codes

Roncalli College Sport

Sport is vital to the health and well being of all people. At the College we encourage all students to play at least one sport, to keep themselves physically active and healthy but also to build relationships with other students.

It is important to revel in the competitive element of sport but also to cater for the social aspect regardless of ability, enabling all students to participate, be a part of a team, develop & learn new skills.

We offer a wide variety of sports to our students and have over 80% of our students participating in sporting activities.  This would not be possible without the wonderful support of our staff, parents and community volunteers.

Our annual school wide sports events: Swimming, Athletics and College Fun Run are held in term one and are a great way to engage the fun and competitive inter-house spirit

We take part in the following Sports Exchanges:

  • Catholic Colleges Sports Tournament (Term One) with St Kevins College (Oamaru), Kavanagh College (Dunedin), St Peter’s College (Gore) and Verdon College (Invercargill).
  • Mercy Cup Tournament (Term Two) with: St Kevins College (Oamaru), Villa Maria College, Catholic Cathedral College, Marian College (Christchurch), John Paul II College (Grey Mouth).
  • St Thomas’s of Canterbury in Christchurch

Questions / Contact

If you have any questions and/or you are interested in helping out with Roncalli Sport, please contact:

José Zandbergen
(Sports Coordinator) 
j.zandbergen@roncalli.school.nz
Phone 03 688 6003 ext 808

Or visit our Sports Office that is situation downstairs in the Ashby Block alongside the Gymnasium.

Athletics
Athletics
Jose Zandbergen

Athletics Jose Zandbergen j.zandbergen@roncalli.school.nz

   

   

   

       

     

Basketball
Basketball
Jose Zandbergen

Basketball Jose Zandbergen j.zandbergen@roncalli.school.nz

Rugby
Rugby
Bryce Caird

Rugby Bryce Caird b.caird@roncalli.school.nz

Swimming
Swimming
Jose Zandbergen

Swimming Jose Zandbergen j.zandbergen@roncalli.school.nz

16 February 2018 

College Swimming sports, Caroline Bay Trust Aoraki Centre

20 February 2018 Postponement day for College Swimming sports
10 April Aoraki Swimming Sports, Ashburton

 

Volleyball
Volleyball
Andrew Jones

Volleyball Andrew Jones a.jones@roncalli.school.nz

Cricket
Cricket
Connaire Roughan

Cricket Connaire Roughan c.roughan@roncalli.school.nz

Badminton
Badminton
Jose Zandbergen

Badminton Jose Zandbergen j.zandbergen@roncalli.school.nz

Tennis
Tennis
Richelle Cannell

Tennis Richelle Cannell r.cannell@roncalli.school.nz

Golf
Golf
Regan Powell

Golf Regan Powell r.powell@roncalli.school.nz

Netball
Netball
Sam Rooney

Netball Sam Rooney s.rooney@roncalli.school.nz

Cycling
Cycling
Richelle Cannell

Cycling Richelle Cannell r.cannell@roncalli.school.nz

Football
Football
Craig Hinton

Football Craig Hinton c.hinton@roncalli.school.nz

Cross Country
Cross Country
Jose Zandbergen

Cross Country Jose Zandbergen j.zandbergen@roncalli.school.nz

Lawn Bowls
Lawn Bowls
Joze Zandbergen

Lawn Bowls Joze Zandbergen j.zandbergen@roncalli.school.nz

Archery
Archery
Mr Conrad O'Connor

Archery Mr Conrad O'Connor c.oconnor@roncalli.school.nz

Pool / Darts
Pool / Darts
Jose Zandbergen

Pool / Darts Jose Zandbergen j.zandbergen@roncalli.school.nz

Futsal
Futsal
Jose Zandbergen

Futsal Jose Zandbergen j.zandbergen@roncalli.school.nz

Table Tennis
Table Tennis
Jose Zandbergen

Table Tennis Jose Zandbergen j.zandbergen@roncalli.school.nz

Rowing
Rowing
Mrs Lisa Cody

Rowing Mrs Lisa Cody l.cody@roncalli.school.nz

Equestrian
Equestrian
Mrs A Hough

Equestrian Mrs A Hough a.hough@roncalli.school.nz

Rock Climbing
Rock Climbing
Mr Guy Sutherland

Rock Climbing Mr Guy Sutherland g.sutherland@roncalli.school.nz

Hockey
Hockey
Mrs Sally Betts

Hockey Mrs Sally Betts s.betts@roncalli.school.nz

Rugby 7s
Rugby 7s
Mr Bryce Caird

Rugby 7s Mr Bryce Caird b.caird@roncalli.school

Squash
Squash
Jose Zandbergen

Squash Jose Zandbergen j.zandbergen@roncalli.school.nz

Touch Rugby
Touch Rugby
Mr Bryce Caird / Miss Ellen Walsh

Touch Rugby Mr Bryce Caird / Miss Ellen Walsh b.caird@roncalli.school.nz / e.walsh@roncalli.school.nz

Ki O Rahi
Ki O Rahi
Jose Zandbergen

Ki O Rahi Jose Zandbergen j.zandbergen@roncalli.school.nz

Skiing & Snowboarding
Skiing & Snowboarding
Ellen Walsh

Skiing & Snowboarding Ellen Walsh e.walsh@roncalli.school.nz